Can he self-propel? Hell yeah!!!

In my ‘About’ page I explain briefly why I’m writing this blog. Thinking about it now, I’m writing it because I know about 5 people read it and some show their appreciation or sympathy by retweeting! Which is more than can be said for communications I direct at Wigan Council, who, despite promising things will change following an independent panel finding them to be a bit shoddy, don’t really seem to be cottoning on.

During the stage 3 panel review into the way allegations we made against staff who worked with my son were handled, it became apparent that the Council were so afraid of me, that they couldn’t do their jobs properly:

“When things don’t go as they want, there are emails sent to as many ppl as possible and ppl were wary of and couldn’t do their job as they should as were thinking of ways of working to avoid conflict. Ppl need to be aware that’s how they come across.”

Of course, the investigating officer could provide no evidence of my menacing behaviour, so that theory was laid to rest quite early in the review.

Katherine Runswick-Cole wrote a piece for the #107days campaign, called The #Motherblame Game and it hits home how, regardless of our situation, parents (specifically mothers in Katherine’s piece) are being blamed left right and centre for a system which is failing to provide an adequate, never mind good, level of service to our disabled kids. If you’re not in denial, you’re inconsiderate. Inconsiderate to the feelings of council staff who have an infinite length of rope with which to save (or hang) themselves, just because when parents complain about poor service, it’s us who are portrayed as the difficult ones.

In December 2014, I informed the council that my son’s seat on his stairlift was too small. Almost 5 months later, my son is still far too big for the stairlift chair (notice how I’ve shifted the blame onto a 10 year old. Even better, cos he hasn’t got the communication ability to complain!!!) and quite soon, he will quite possibly slip off it, mid staircase, and be strangled by the harness. But I won’t complain, because that would be me, just being difficult. Never satisfied, that’s me.

Anyway, Wigan Council, I’ve been in touch with an old mate of Elvis, who put me in touch with a bloke who still has a rocket seat from the 1960s. He says he can have it shipped over in less than 4 months, so don’t bother with the stairlift, this looks a bit more promising.

  

Photo courtesy of :

Flying Into The Future – The most comprehensive website on Rocket Belts and Jet Packs

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Can he self-propel? Hell yeah!!!

  1. Just wanted to add, I read your posts also because your very dry humour on the despairing issues makes me laugh =). The kind of a guilty laugh when you know it’s not a laughing matter but where you also feel completely powerless to do anything and actually being able to laugh about it is in some weird way helpful for keeping going (like the issue of blaming parents – I see it happening all the time and I try to address it but I am still to find a way for people to listen – I kind of lose my steam but reading your very sarcastic commentary on it gives me a new boost of energy to continue trying). Thanks Diane.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

